Day 03: An Adventure or Challenge While Traveling

Welcome to Day 03 of the International Travel Challenge! This has been pretty fun and I’ve started some twitter and facebook discussions to get everyone thinking internationally.

I would have to say one of the most challenging things I’ve done while traveling was experiencing the Alps.  The climb wasn’t terribly steep in most places but there were definitely some narrow paths that involved a whole lot of faith and mental strength.  It was by far one of the most exhilirating experiences I’ve ever been a part of and the views were breathtaking.  I still can’t believe I was there!

Walking the Alps

Excerpt from my study abroad journal when I returned from the Alps:

“I have to admit that breathtaking is the only word I can think of to describe it…I’m not big on ‘nature’ and the outdoors, but this was amazing. It was amazing enough to make an atheist believe in God.  And it sucks because no matter how you describe it or how many pictures you take you can never convey the feeling you get when you see this huge perfect figure that you know no man could have made… I was definitely scared as hell in the Alps.”

I’ve been told many times that this background looks fake.  No, God’s just that perfect :).

Long way down right?

Alright so let’s hear it.  What have been your adventurous and challenging experiences while traveling? I’ve already peeped Terri’s and I can say it’s something I definitely have to do once in my life – but I get anxious just thinking about it.  Also, Nikita better known as Mademoiselle Mitchell, has joined in on the fun!  And be on the lookout for updates from Monique of MoTravels, Ernest from Fly-Brother, and April from Absolute Travel Addict.

You know I’m indecisive right? Yeah I couldn’t decide between the Alps and this canoe race in Dominica during Dive Fest.  Yeah, as you can see we didn’t know what we were doing – but we still won like 5 cases of Kubuli beer! It was definitely a sight to see… Especially the part when our relay partners capsized! Pure hilarity.

5 thoughts on “Day 03: An Adventure or Challenge While Traveling

  1. I’m usually not afraid of heights, but THAT looks scary to me. Here’s to overcoming our fears so that we can experience all of these great things.

    • I LOVE ziplining! I typically don’t have a fear of heights but there’s always that first step off the ledge or whatever that gets my adrenaline pumping. I know this sounds cliche, but I want to go ziplining in Costa Rica on one of those Canopy Tours!

  2. Pingback: Introducing: The 15 Day International Travel Challenge **Updated** « Vai Via Blog

Leave a Reply

