Day 08: A Favorite Food from Another Country/Culture

My favorite food changes at any given time of the year.  It’s usually the dish that I haven’t had in the longest.  Or the hardest one to find.  When I first returned from my semester abroad in Italy, risotto was the only thing I wanted.  Interestingly enough, my current flavor of the month is another Italian dish that is either a)impossible to find or b)impossible to find a version as delicious as I remember it.  And maybe it’s my favorite not only because of the taste, but also because of the memories it brings up.  “It” being gnocchi – in some amazing red sauce that has so much cheese that it’s orange.  And this picture here looks pretty fancy.  But that’s not how I remember it.  We ordered it takeout style from the pizza place across the street from out apartment and got a huge aluminum tin for $5 that lasted two of us two days.  That alone is probably where I gained all my weight that semester.  It was quick, close, and amazingly delicious! It’s always those hole-in-the-wall mom-and-pop type hidden secrets that have the best food.  That’s something that applies no matter what part of the world you’re in!

What are your favorite international dishes? Better yet, do you know where I can find some good gnocchi?

Are you keeping up with the #travelchallenge? Make sure to check out everyone else’s posts:

Also, please excuse the changes over the next few days.  I’m trying to find a better layout for the blog.
Leave a Reply

