My ABC’s of Travel

I am not one to back down from a challenge. So when Naomi of Kansan Girl Chronicles (and one of my newest Twitter friends!) tagged me to her post – I just knew I had to go ahead, bite the bullet, and get to writing. But I like challenges anyway, so here goes!


A: Age you went on your first international trip:
Twenty. Fall semester. Junior year. Changed my life. And I could drink there so it led to a pretty anti-climatic 21st birthday 10 days after I returned.

B. Best (foreign) beer you’ve had and where:
Kubuli! From Dominica in the Eastern Caribbean. We won hella cases of Kubuli during Divefest (we lost a canoe race because our boat capsized smh).

C: Cuisine (favorite):
Man. I like food. Like a lot. Like all of it. Italian is one of my favorites. But the spices of any island food – Jamaican, Eastern Caribbean, whatever – make me weak! And then let’s not even get on Thai, Japanese, and Chinese. Yeah, I just like food.

D: Destinations, favorite, least favorite and why:
Least favorite: I can’t think of a “least” favorite. If I didn’t enjoy it I must not remember it. Wait – does Tijuana count?

Favorite: Capri, Italy. I feel like I talk about this alot. But here, read this, instead.

E: Event you experienced abroad that made you say “wow”:
Inter vs. AC Milan at San Siro stadium – wow. Then that weekend we went to the Alps. Just wow all week long.

F: Favorite mode of transportation: 
My blue suede shoes (or whatever is on my feet at the moment). I’m a fan of walking to explore a new place. Although I’ll never pass on the opportunity to cruise around a little island in the Mediterranean on a yacht.

G: Greatest feeling while traveling: 
Landing in a new place. Breaking through the clouds as you disover a new skyline (or coastline) from your window seat. Then those first steps out of the airport. What a freakin rush!
H: Hottest place you’ve traveled to:
Vegas in July. Why didn’t anyone warn me? (This doesn’t have to be international does it?)

I: Incredible service you’ve experienced and where: 
Virgin Airlines – or maybe it wasn’t the service and I was just woo’d by the funky fresh fly planes (well looka there – a double entendre first on Vai Via ;-)).

J: Journey that took the longest: 
Driving from Memphis to Cali and back again. Love will make you do some crazy things!

K: Keepsake from your travels: 
Jewelry. Or the pashmina I got from Italy like 7 years ago. It’s my absolute favorite and so much thicker and prettier than the ones you get here. And it still gets compliments!

L: Let-down sight, why and where: 
Mona freakin Lisa. I mean, really. Why? Why is this piece famous?? The most exciting thing about the Louvre the night I visited was the lighting.
M: Moment where you fell in love with travel:
Residential summer camps in high school!

N: Nicest hotel you’ve stayed in: 
The one in Capri? Or maybe one of the W’s. I’m really bipolar and can’t decide whether I like modern/chic or shabby/chic. Or even classic/beautifully historic.

O: Obsession—what are you obsessed with taking pictures of while traveling?:
Kids. And old people. And couples. I guess just people. 

P: Passport stamps, how many and from where? 
I have NO idea how many. But I do know that the customs guy in Panama last month stamped on top of one of my other stamps and I really felt violated! I was like what?! ALL these pages in here?! And you just tried to mess up one of my memories?!? #rude. Mexico, Dominica, Netherlands, Italy, London, Chicago, Brazil – didn’t get any Europe stamps because I was traveling from Italy. Womp.

Q: Quirkiest attraction you’ve visited and where: 
I don’t remember the absolute quirkiest but the most recent quirky would be at MASP in Sao Paulo. Just look at this picture and you’ll see why:

R: Recommended sight, event or experience:
Get on a plane and see something you’ve never seen before. Done!

S: Splurge; something you have no problem forking over money for while traveling: 
Food. I spend way too much money on food and wine. But then I don’t wanna pay for a taxi smh.

T: Touristy thing you’ve done: 
Liquor factory tours. They’re soooo gimmicky. Bacardi Factory in Puerto Rico and Heineken “Museum” in Amsterdam.

U: Unforgettable travel memory:
I haven’t forgotten a thing!

V: Visas, how many and for where? : 
Italy for school and Brazil because America is tripping and they’re just practicing reciprocity. But at least I’m good for the next 10 years! World Cup what up?

W: Wine, best glass of wine while traveling and where?:
I fell in LOVE with chianti while staying on a vineyard in Italy. It was like bottomless mimosas except – it was wine. And it was free. But whatever was in that sangria in Barcelona – whew!

X: eXcellent view and from where?: 
The view of Rio de Janeiro from the Christ the Redeemer statue. Or the view of the statue from down in Rio.

Y: Years spent traveling?: 
10? 15? 20? I don’t know. Do family reunions count? I think we went to Ft. Lauderdale when I was like 9. And my dad lived in Chicago when I was 5 or 6. 

Z: Zealous sports fans and where?
San Siro in Italy. CRAZY. FANS. Although most recently in Brasil I practically got accosted about my favorite Brazilian soccer team at least once a day. And if I didn’t answer “right” boy did they have some words for me! But that’s cool because I didn’t understand them anyway 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 thoughts on “My ABC’s of Travel

Leave a Reply

