CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS: Travel Anthology Project

Here’s an open letter I’ve shared with friends who I know have studied abroad. Based on the initial interest and some feedback I’ve received, I can already tell this could be a multi-volume project. So I’m opening up submissions. The letter pretty much speaks for itself. If it speaks to you, add your e-mail to the contributor list. If it doesn’t, just promise to cop the book when it’s published at the end of this year.

Hey friends,

If you’re getting this, that means I’m aware that you have either worked, studied, lived, or traveled internationally. Also, you probably know that I am all about encouraging others to broaden their world view and have some international experiences of their own. That said, I’m interested in writing a book. Moreso an anthology. I’d like to collect stories about experiences that we have had internationally and publish them as a way to not only preserve them, but to show others that we do travel and to spark their interest in this world of ours. Those stories about getting lost and stumbling upon that dope nightspot, the moment you and hour host family just clicked, how you and your new foreign boo argued daily but didn’t even speak the same language (oh – that was just me? ok), the first time you realized you were no longer a “tourist”… etc. etc. etc….  
So, what do you think? I know not all of us are writers, but I know that we all have a story to tell. I would be more than honored to have you as a part of this experience! I envision this book in the hands of college freshman at Howard, in the AUC, at big state colleges; being read in Book Clubs all over the nation; being shared among young professional circles; being required reading for local high schools; and most importantly as plane reading for a group of black young adults’ next big trip. Remember how everyone use to pass around The Coldest Winter Ever in high school? Yeah, that viral. 
If you are at all interested in being a part of this experience by contributing either a short story, drawing, photo, poem, recipe, whatever, please enter your e-mail in the contact field below. Also, I only know so many people so if you were abroad with others or know of others who could also be a part of this please feel free to share this message with them.
Looking forward to hearing back from all of you!
Love,
D.
Add yourself to the Contributor list here. Then be sure to check out the submission details on the Call for Submissions page.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 thoughts on “CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS: Travel Anthology Project

  1. AWw I really wish I’d known about this blog earlier! I’d love to have contributed my experience in Turkey where, for the whole time that I was there I temporarily thought that I was a celebrity because of all of the pictures that I was being asked (and not asked) to take. ::sigh::

Leave a Reply

